SHAPE - Sound Heterogeneous Art and Performance in Europe

Sound Heterogeneous Art and Performance in Europe

Supporting Emerging European Talent

Peder Mannerfelt at CTM 2016. Photo by Camille Blake.

An initiative co-funded by the Creative Europe programme of the European Union, the SHAPE project reunites 16 European non-profit organisations active within the ICAS – International Cities of Advanced Sound network to create a platform that aims to support, promote, and exchange innovative and aspiring emergent musicians and interdisciplinary artists with an interest in sound.

All 16 organisations collectively choose 48 musicians to participate in a mix of live performances, residencies, workshops and talks across member festivals and special events. A new pool of 48 artists is selected subsequently for each year of SHAPE initiative.

The SHAPE project launched at CTM 2015 with an open Meet and Greet. Presentations by several SHAPE organisations as well a selection of participating artists provided insight into the upcoming year of activities, musical projects, and beyond. CTM 2016 launched the platform's second year, announcing the 2016 supported artists. Artists supported in 2017 were announced autumn 2016, with a first major presentation at Novas Frequencias festival in Rio de Janeiro. In 2018, SHAPE's funding has been renewed for another 4 years, effectivly launching the project's second phase. SHAPE also has increased its commitment to diversifying supported artists, notably by supporting a 50:50 male:female roster this year. International showcases and public educational events are also planned.

Participating Artists 2018

  • Alley Catss (HU)
  • Arielle Esther (FR)
  • Berangere Maximin (FR)
  • Bonaventure (CH)
  • Caterina Barbieri (IT)
  • Catnapp (AR/DE)
  • Chinaski (DE)
  • December (FR)
  • Deena Abdelwahed (TN/FR)
  • DJ Morgiana (PL)
  • Èlg (BE)
  • EOD (NO)
  • Ewa Justka (PL/UK)
  • Giant Swan (UK)
  • Golin (BE)
  • Gosheven (HU)
  • Isama Zing (SK)
  • Joasihno (DE)
  • Jung An Tagen (AT)
  • Kathy Hinde (UK)
  • Kimyan Law (AT)
  • Kinga Toth (HU)
  • Lifecutter (SI)
  • Malibu (FR)
  • Mika Oki (BE)
  • Nene H (TR/DE)
  • Nina Hudej (SI)
  • Nkisi (BE)
  • Oklou (FR)
  • Oko DJ (FR)
  • Pan Daijing (CN/DE)
  • Piernikowski / Golebiewski (PL)
  • Red Trio (PT)
  • Sarah Farina (DE)
  • Schwefelgelb (DE)    
  • Sinosc (DE)
  • Sissel Wincent (SE)
  • Sourdure (FR)
  • Swan Meat (US/DE)
  • Tesa (LV)
  • Tomoko Sauvage (JP/FR)
  • Tutu (ES)
  • Umbra (RS)
  • Uriel Barthelemi (FR)
  • Vladimir Ivkovic (RS)
  • Yamaneko (UK)